2020 Show! Application now available online!

Juror: Winnie Owens-Hart

  • August  1, 2019 – Entry form available online or via download and print format
  • November 9, 2019 – ENTRY DEADLINE. Pieces must be received at Bracker’s Good Earth Clays by this date – suggested US postmark date: no later than Nov. 1st to arrive on time
  • November 30, 2019 – jurying complete at Bracker’s – all applicants receive notification by this date
  • January 11, 2020 – opening reception and work posted online
  • February 28, 2020 – closing reception
  • March 25-28, 2020 – work on display at NCECA in Richmond, VA
  • June 30, 2020 – return of unsold work

The entry fee is $40 and covers up to two pieces.
• A third piece may be entered for an additional $15.00
• Checks should be made payable to the International Cone Box Show
• All work must be original
• Work must be a minimum 50% fired clay
• No single work may exceed $200 in value
• All work must be for sale, (work not accepted into the show may still be sold)
• Pieces that arrived damaged will NOT be returned, the artist will be notified via email
• Each work must be able to fit into a Large Orton Cone Box (3”X3”X6”), but does not have to be mailed in a cone box. (Two works may ship together.)
• A work tag must be securely attached to each work for identification.
• All forms must be filled out!
• The Cone Box Show will collect a 30% commission on sold work
• Pieces not sold will be returned by UPS or First Class Mail in original packaging

2018 Awards

BEST IN SHOW ($500 prize):
Water Ripple #25 by KyoungHwa Oh from Grand Junction, CO

JUROR’S AWARDS ($350 prize):
Cone-asaurus by John Tobin from Chesapeake, VA USA
Cup #2 by Steven Hill from Independence, MO USA

PURCHASE AWARDS ($300 prize):
Teapot & Pillow by Roberta Polfus from Oak Park, IL USA
Enchanted (Memory) Vase by Margrieta Jeltema from Vermezzo, Italy
The Gin Angel by Wendy Kershaw from Lochwinnoch, Scotland UK
Haunted by Patricia Whidby from Iowa City, IA USA
Granum by C.J. Niehaus from Crystal Lake, IL USA
Fake Fruit by Joan Walton Montauk, NY USA

Purchase award prizes were and sponsorships provided by:

Aardvark Clay & Supplies

Bailey Pottery Equipment Corporation

Dolan Pottery Tools

L&L Kiln Manufacturing, Inc.

Spectrum Glaze Mfg.

Stone Leaf Pottery

Tucker’s Pottery Supplies, Inc.

2018 Artist List

Nearly 250 pieces entered – 70 were chosen for the show.

Yumiko Aso
Christian Bailey
Bekah Bliss
Jennifer Buckley
Anne Egitto
Eric Fuson
Douglas Gray
Margaret Griffin
Kim Harcourt Roman
David Harris
Eleanor Heimbaugh
Steven Hill
Margrieta Jeltema
Anna Katz
Wendy Kershaw
Michele Krupka
Marina Kuchinski
Harriette Laskin
Susana Leung
Brianne Fulton Miller
C.J. Niehaus
KyoungHwa Oh
Peter F Olszak
Vijay Paniker
Roberta Polfus
Margi Posten
Cindy Powers
Johannettte Rowley
martha ryan
Marcia Selsor
Allison Coles Severance
Rebecca Sigler
Carolyn Sorrell
Regina Swim
John Tobin
Leilani Trinka
Joan Walton
Patricia Whidby
Liz Willoughby
Karen Wise
Pamela Woodworth







Deadline extended into January!

2010 Cone Box Show retrospective

Thanks to everyone for their patience.  We’ve been experiencing some technical glitches with online entry and payment methods, which has kept us from getting the word out about the show.  We want to make sure everyone has the opportunity to enter, so we have decided to extend the deadline to January 19th (suggested US Postmark date), with the absolute deadline for work to be here at Bracker’s Good Earth Clays on January 24th.  Please help us  spread the word!

(above image from the 2002 Cone Box Show Retrospective.  Learn more in the history section of this website)

Entry Form Now Available!

We are excited to announce that the entry form for the 2018 Cone Box Show is now available.  Click here to download the traditional “print and fill out neatly in pen” form, OR check out our new online submission below.  Just fill it out right here online and send in your piece!  We’ll match up your piece with your paperwork!


The 2018 Cone Box Show Juror will be Pete Pinnell!

We are extremely thrilled to announce that Pete Pinnell will be the Juror of the 2018 Cone Box Show!  Pinnell is a potter, a writer, a professor, a speaker and an historian.  He has exhibited his own work internationally and has been a juror of multiple shows across the country.  Pinnell has written for Ceramics: Art & Perception, Ceramics Monthly, Clay Times, and Purple Sand (A Taiwanese Ceramics Journal).  He has given several presentations at NCECA, all of which have been among the most popular at that year’s conference and continue to be the most watched videos on the NCECA YouTube Channel.

The Cone Box Show Entry form will be available in early October.  Be sure to check back soon!

Pete was also the subject of a fantastic video produced by Charlie Cummings.   Check it out right here:



2016 Show Artist List

Wyatt Amend
Stuart Asprey
Mark Bell
Clinton Berry
Angela Carbone
John Chambers
Amy Chase
Daria Claiborne
Juli Crenshaw
Jeff Diehl
Marcia Erickson
Delores Fortuna
Barbara Frey
Chase Grover
Sandra Happel
Inger Heebøll
Jennifer Hill
Steve Hilton
Anna Calluori Holcombe
Nina Hole
Enid Israelson
Hiromi Iyoda
Cathi Jefferson
Margrieta Jeltema
Dave Kaufmann
Susan Kennedy
Danny Kostyshin
Brian Kovachik
Mika Negishi Laidlaw
Harriette Laskin
Robert Long
Monette Mark
Caitlyn Marsh
Maureen Miller
Priscilla Mouritzen
C.J. Niehaus
Ann-Charlotte Ohlsson
Julie Olson
Karen Orsillo
Inayoshi Osama
Vijayan V Paniker
Jared Pfeiffer
Roberta Polfus
Phil Rogers
Anne Marie Row
Kelly Rush
Mary Ellen Salmon
Kris Saxton
Marcia Selsor
Paula Shalan
Melanie Sherman
Cynthia Siegel
Mark Bell & Simon Vande
Ersatz Sobriquet
Mitchell Spain
Susan Speck
Linda Swanson
Beatriz Trepat
Leilani Trinka
Simon Van Der Ven
Paula Vaughn
John Vorstadt
Mike Watanabe
Christopher Whittington
Liz Willoughby
Jessica Wilson
Karen Wise
Fred Yokel


Award winners will be announced at the opening on March 4th, and should then appear here on our website the following week.  Thank you all for your patience!

We will also post an image gallery soon!

Cone Box Show March 2016 in Kansas City!

We are excited to announce that the next International Cone Box Show will be premiered at the 50th Anniversary NCECA Conference in Kansas City.  The Deadline for entries will be December of 2015, so you have plenty of time.  Our Jurors will be Garth Clark, Greg Daly & Inge Balch.  Accepted artists will be posted online by the end of January, and the show will open at the Hilliard Gallery in Kansas City in March.  Remember that the best things come in small packages!

2012 Award Winners

Congratulations to this years International Cone Box Show Award Winners!

Jurors Award Winners are:

Charlotte  Nielsen, 4291 Ruds Vedby,  DK   DENMARK

Johannette  Rowley, Honolulu,  HI   USA

Sebastian  Moh, Louisville,  KY   USA

Purchase Award Winners are:

Greg  Daly, Cowra,  NSW   AUSTRALIA

Chad  Gunderson, Bennington,  VT   USA

Enid  Israelson, Brooklyn,  NY   USA

Cathi  Jefferson, Duncan,  BC   CANADA

Darien  Johnson, Buffalo,  NY   USA

Shikha  Joshi, Round Rock,  TX   USA

Wendy  Kershaw, Glasgow,  Scotland   Scotland

Paul  Knoll, Claremont,  CA   USA

Brian  Kovachik, Juno Beach,  FL   USA

Brian  Molanphy, Dallas,  TX   USA

KyoungHwa  Oh, Grand Junction,  CO   USA

Marie  Paquette, Kars,  ON   CANADA

Roberta  Polfus, Oak Park,  IL   USA

Johannette  Rowley, Honolulu,  HI   USA

Tammie  Rubin, Champaign,  IL   USA