2020 Artist List

Winnie Owens-Hart traveled to Lawrence on November 21st to jury the 2020 Cone Box Show.   She selected 42 works.  We are excited to realize her vision of the 2020 show.  Congratulations to the following:

Like a Coin Purse Chandra Beadleston
Death Bed Hannah Brust
Bruegel the 1st “Peasant painter” Yonat Chameides
Bruegel the 2nd “Peasant painter” Yonat Chameides
Rights of the Child Teresa Dunlop
Espresso Time Teresa Dunlop
Cherry Blossom Espresso set for two Anne Egitto
My little politician Eric Fuson
Mini Bottle Vase Maureen Gamel
Winter’s Brood Douglas Gray
Fledgling Douglas Gray
Above the Muck David Harris
Floating in a Brick House David Harris
Tender Hearted Carol Horst
We are precarious Carol Horst
Cone Throne Karen Kohtz
Lazarus Karen Kohtz
Remodel:Bedroom at arles with en suite Karen Kohtz
Raku chick Susanna Kopchains
Finder’s Keepers Hilde Lambrechts
From the Ministry of Funny Hats Hilde Lambrechts
Sugar Jar Caitlyn Marsh
Ternio Sentio CJ Niehaus
Tris Calix CJ Niehaus
Shabby Chic Teapot Cindy Percival
Basket Cindy Percival
teapot Roberta Polfus
Flower reef Roberta Polfus
Diaphanous Magma, WonderPortal series Heather Rosenman
Incandescent Tephra, WonderPortal Series Heather Rosenman
What a Journey Susanne Sidebottom
My work brushes Susanne Sidebottom
Ancient Carolyn Sorrell
Old lovers Olivia Stinson
Blooming Noche Necklace Bernadette Esperanza Torres
Cup & Saucy C.A. Traen
A Shoal of Appetizer Forks Leilani Trinka
Olive Dish with Picks Leilani Trinka
Rocking Bud Vase Leilani Trinka
Cup and Saucer Jan Van Meter
Emergence Trish Whidby
Organic Form Collette Zielinski

The show will open at Bracker’s Good Earth Clays with an afternoon reception on Saturday, January 11, 2020.  Images from the show will be available online after this date.  The closing reception on February 28th, 2020 will coincide with Final Fridays in Lawrence.  The show will then be packed up to travel to the annual NCECA conference in Richmond, VA.  Find us in the convention center, beginning with the opening reception on Tuesday, March 24th, through Friday March 27th at 5pm.

2020 Show! Application now available online!

Juror: Winnie Owens-Hart

  • August  1, 2019 – Entry form available online or via download and print format
  • November 9, 2019 – ENTRY DEADLINE. Pieces must be received at Bracker’s Good Earth Clays by this date – suggested US postmark date: no later than Nov. 1st to arrive on time
  • November 30, 2019 – jurying complete at Bracker’s – all applicants receive notification by this date
  • January 11, 2020 – opening reception and work posted online
  • February 28, 2020 – closing reception
  • March 25-28, 2020 – work on display at NCECA in Richmond, VA
  • June 30, 2020 – return of unsold work

The entry fee is $40 and covers up to two pieces.
• A third piece may be entered for an additional $15.00
• Checks should be made payable to the International Cone Box Show
• All work must be original
• Work must be a minimum 50% fired clay
• No single work may exceed $200 in value
• All work must be for sale, (work not accepted into the show may still be sold)
• Pieces that arrived damaged will NOT be returned, the artist will be notified via email
• Each work must be able to fit into a Large Orton Cone Box (3”X3”X6”), but does not have to be mailed in a cone box. (Two works may ship together.)
• A work tag must be securely attached to each work for identification.
• All forms must be filled out!
• The Cone Box Show will collect a 30% commission on sold work
• Pieces not sold will be returned by UPS or First Class Mail in original packaging

2018 Awards

BEST IN SHOW ($500 prize):
Water Ripple #25 by KyoungHwa Oh from Grand Junction, CO

JUROR’S AWARDS ($350 prize):
Cone-asaurus by John Tobin from Chesapeake, VA USA
Cup #2 by Steven Hill from Independence, MO USA

PURCHASE AWARDS ($300 prize):
Teapot & Pillow by Roberta Polfus from Oak Park, IL USA
Enchanted (Memory) Vase by Margrieta Jeltema from Vermezzo, Italy
The Gin Angel by Wendy Kershaw from Lochwinnoch, Scotland UK
Haunted by Patricia Whidby from Iowa City, IA USA
Granum by C.J. Niehaus from Crystal Lake, IL USA
Fake Fruit by Joan Walton Montauk, NY USA

Purchase award prizes were and sponsorships provided by:

Aardvark Clay & Supplies

Bailey Pottery Equipment Corporation

Dolan Pottery Tools

L&L Kiln Manufacturing, Inc.

Spectrum Glaze Mfg.

Stone Leaf Pottery

Tucker’s Pottery Supplies, Inc.